An Anthem for the Nones

As reported this week, the Nones are on the rise—that’s those who check “none of the above” when asked what their religion is.   As was discovered at the dawn of the French Revolution with the Marseillaise, a good stirring song, can really kick a movement into high gear, so if the Nones are looking for an anthem, I’d like to nominate a rendition of “Give Me That Old-Time Religion” written anonymously a while back (with the exception of the final verse by Pete Seeger). It reminds us cheerfully that there are many old-time religions and, if you allow your mind to expand a little, makes you admit that it would be difficult to say with any precision which of the old-time religions is the true religion, and therefore, perhaps we ought not be so quick to berate, denigrate, pity, or scorn those who do not share our convictions on the deity questions.

Here are the verses:

Refrain: Give me that old-time religion (3 times)

And that’s good enough for me.

We will pray to Aphrodite

Even though she’s rather flighty

And they say she wears no nightie, and that’s good enough for me…

We will pray with those Egyptians

Build pyramids to put our crypts in

Cover subways with inscriptions,   and that’s good enough for me…

O-old Odin we will follow

And in fighting we will wallow

Till we wind up in Valhalla, and that’s good enough for me…

Let me follow dear old Buddha

For there is nobody cuter

He comes in plaster, wood, or pewter, and that’s good enough for me…

We will pray with Zarathustra

Pray just like we useta

I’m a Zarathustra booster, and that’s good enough for me…

We will pray with those old Druids

They drink fermented fluids

Waltzing naked through the woo-ids, and that’s good enough for me…

Hare Krishna gets a laugh on

When he sees me dressed in saffron

With my hair that’s only half on, and that’s good enough for me…

I’ll arise at early morning

When my Lord, the sun, gives me warning

That the solar age is dawning, and that’s good enough for me…

 

Leave a Reply

